Oldenburg Centre for Sustainability Economics and Management

The transition to sustainability is a complex project of societal change. The Oldenburg Centre for Sustainability Economics and Management (CENTOS) is dedicated to addressing the research questions required for this task.

CENTOS combines scientific competence and activities in the area of environmental economics and sustainability management which have been developed over the course of the past two decades at the University of Oldenburg, and which have now attained high national and international visibility.

CENTOS is concerned with environmental economic analyses, and with the design of processes of change and learning in companies and other stakeholders in society. The focus is particularly on business networks, new services, application systems and institutional change in the context of sustainable development. At the overall economic level, the evaluation of environmental change, the design of environmental policy measures, their political and economic determinants and their economic effects are central.

Modern concepts and methods of environmental economics and policy, questions of environmental education, consumer and lifestyle-related aspects as well as culturalistic perspectives of sustainable consumption are taken into account, as are transdisciplinary approaches in research on innovation and entrepreneurship.

At present, climate protection and energy supply, food, information and communications technologies, the textile business and mobility are among the concrete areas of investigation.

The Centre addresses the following research focus areas:

  • Environmental and resource economics
  • Ecological economics
  • Business sustainability research, with a cultural studies base
  • Sustainability-oriented learning at the individual and the societal levels
  • Sustainability-oriented innovation research and sustainable supply chain management
  • Environmental policy and environmental law
  • Economic and business ethics.

COAST - Zentrum für Umwelt- und Nachhaltigkeitsforschung

CENTOS gehört dem wissenschaftlichem Zentrum COAST an, das die Aktivitäten verschiedener Einrichtungen der Universität Oldenburg auf dem Gebiet der Nachhaltigkeit bündelt.

Zu weiteren Einrichtungen von COAST gehören:

  • Zentrum für Umweltmodellierung (CEM)
  • Zentrum für Windenergieforschung (ForWind)
  • Institut für Chemie und Biologie des Meeres (ICBM)
  • Zentrum für nachhaltige Raumentwicklung in Oldenburg (ZENARIO)

 

 

 

CENTOS - Oldenburg Center for Sustainability Economics and Management

Die Gestaltung von Nachhaltigkeit ist ein komplexes sozio-ökonomisches Wandlungsprojekt. Den damit verbundenen Forschungsfragen widmet sich das Oldenburg Center for Sustainability Economics and Management.

CENTOS vereint wissenschaftliche Kompetenzen und Aktivitäten im Bereich von Umweltökonomie und  Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement, die sich im Verlauf von zwei Jahrzehnten an der Universität Oldenburg entwickelt und inzwischen eine hohe nationale und internationale Sichtbarkeit erlangt haben.

CENTOS befasst sich mit umweltökonomischen Analysen sowie mit der Gestaltung von Lern- und Veränderugsprozessen bei Unternehmen und weiteren gesellschaftlichen Akteuren. Insbesondere werden dabei Unternehmensnetzwerke, neue Diensleistungen, Nutzungssysteme und institutioneller Wandel im Kontext nachhaltiger Entwicklung fokussiert. Auf gesamtwirtschaftlicher Ebene stehen die Bewertung von Umweltveränderungen, die Gestaltung umweltploitischer Maßnahmen, ihre politökonomischen Determinanten sowie ihre ökonomischen Auswirkungen im Zentrum.

Moderne Konzepte und Methoden der Umweltpolitik, Fragen der Umweltbildung, konsum- und lebensstilrelevante Aspekte sowie kulturalistische Perspektiven nachhaltigen Konsums werden ebenso berücksichtigt wie transdisziplinäre Ansätze in der Innovations- und Entrepreneurship-Forschung.

Zu den konkreten Untersuchungsfeldern zählen gegenwärtig Klimaschutz und Energieversorgung, Ernährung, Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien, Textilwirtschaft sowie Mobilität.

Das Zentrum umfasst folgende Forschungsschwerpunkte:

  • Umwelt- und Ressourcenökonomik;
  • Ökologische Ökonomie
  • Betriebswirtschaftliche Nachhaltigkeitsforschung mit kulturwissenschatlicher Fundierung
  • Nachhaltigkeitsorientiertes Lernen auf individueller und gesellschaftlicher Ebene
  • Nachhaltigkeitsorientiertes Innovationsforschung und Sustainable Supply Chain Management
  • Umweltpolitik und Umweltrecht
  • Wirtschafts- und Unternehmensethik