Wind Energy Systems

Welcome!

"Wind Energy Systems" (WE-Sys) concerns most about understanding wind turbines and wind farms as active, controllable elements in the physical environment including influences like wind, wind farm effects and waves and as a part of the electrical grid. Work is done on a numerical as well as on an experimental path with strong synergy between both. Numerics can cover the whole range from fast engineering models up to scientific simulations aiming for the full complexity. The experimental validation can be performed on real size wind turbines and in wind farms "in situ" as well as in a model scale in the laboratory.

As a member of ForWind, the center for wind energy research of the universities of Oldenburg, Hannover and Bremen, research is often done in collaboration with different other groups. The goal of most research projects is to better understand special aspects of wind energy systems and to facilitate the transfer of this knowledge to industrial application and to implementation in computational design tools.

At present, many large offshore wind farms are under construction or in a planning stage. New flow effects arise from turbines being arranged in large arrays having multiple overlapped wakes with reduced wind speed and increased turbulence. This results in high loads on the turbines and less power output. WE-Sys works on this topic in a recent project. The remote sensing technique Lidar is used to set up a wind scanner enabling the possibility for accurate three-dimesional measurements of the wind field in and around large wind farms.

We are a member of the center for wind energy research:

Bild 

 

Contact

University of Oldenburg
Institute of Physics - ForWind
Prof. Dr. Martin Kühn
Ammerländer Heerstr. 136
D-26129 Oldenburg
Phone: +49 (0)441 / 798-5060

Windenergie Systeme

Herzlich willkommen!

"Windenergie Systeme" (WE-Sys) beschäftigt sich hauptsächlich damit, Windenergieanlagen und Windparks als aktive kontrollierbare Elemente in einer physischen Umgebung zu betrachten. Äußere Einflüsse sind hierbei z.B. Wind, Windparkeffekte, Wellen aber auch das Verbundnetz. Forschung wird auf einem numerischen und einem experimentellen Pfad betrieben. Diese Pfade sind eng miteinander verbunden. Die numerischen Methoden decken die gesamte Bandbreite von schnellen Ingenieursmodellen bis hin zu wissenschaftlichen Simulationen ab. Die experimentelle Validierung kann an echten Windenergieanlagen bzw. Windparks "in situ" oder auf Modellskala im Labor erfolgen.

WE-Sys ist Mitglied von ForWind, dem Zentrum für Windenergieforschung der Universitäten Oldenburg, Hannover und Bremen. Somit werden viele Forschungsprojekte in Kooperation mit anderen Gruppen durchgeführt. Das Ziel der meisten Projekte ist es, spezielle windenergiespezifische Probleme zu verstehen und die Ergebnisse in praktisch angewandte Rechenmodelle einfließen zu lassen.

Derzeit sind einige große Offshore-Windparks im Aufbau oder in Planung. Durch die gemeinsame Anordnung vieler Windenergieanlagen und der Überlagerung ihrer Nachläufe entstehen neue Strömungsbedingungen in denen die Windgeschwindigkeit reduziert und die Turbulenz erhöht ist. Daraus resultieren erhöhte Lasten auf die Anlagen und ein verminderter Energieertrag. We-Sys arbeitet aktuell an diesen Problemen. Mit Hilfe der Fernerkundungsmethode Lidar wird derzeit ein "Windscanner" aufgebaut, welcher die Möglichkeit eröffnet, Windfelder in Windparks und deren Umgebung dreidimensional zu vermessen.

Wir sind Mitglied im Zentrum für Windenergieforschung

Bild

 

Messung mit WINDCUBE

erste Messungen mit dem WINDCUBE

Kontakt

Universität Oldenburg
Institut für Physik - ForWind
Prof. Dr. Martin Kühn
Ammerländer Heerstr. 136
D-26129 Oldenburg

Tel: +49 (0)441 / 798-5060