The Institute

The Institute of Sport Science at the Carl von Ossietzky University of Oldenburg is a small institution in which communication works very well within and between different status groups. The student council contributes valuable support for new students, particularly in the orientation week.

There are no mass courses at our institute. There is room for students´ concerns and questions in class and in our staff´s office hours.

We offer sport pedagogical and sport-sociological colloquium - for qualifying works at all levels, which are held regularly during term time and are very well attended beyond the boundaries of the discipline. This is where students, graduate students and assistant professors put their concepts and working results up for discussion. Students are regularly integrated into teaching as tutors or teaching assistants in practical exercises and tutorials supervised by our teachers.

Different areas of study and organisational matters are handled by relevant contact persons.

The groundsmen take care of the sports facilities and playgrounds at Uhlhornsweg and Campus Wechloy. There are also sports facilities alongside the big sport hall, gymnasium and several activity areas, the tennis and beach volleyball courts and a lawn. The University indoor pool is maintained by the pool attendants.

Important concerns of the Institute are discussed at the meetings of the Institute Council. Regularly held in the institute meetings during the semester.

The secretariat is the first point of contact for general questions.

For all questions around studying, students may address the academic advisor.

Das Institut

Das Institut für Sportwissenschaft der Carl von Ossietzky-Universität Oldenburg ist ein kleines Institut, an dem die Kommunikation innerhalb der und zwischen den verschiedenen Statusgruppen sehr gut funktioniert. Die Fachschaft leistet hierzu mit ihren Betreuungen der StudienanfängerInnen, vor allem in der Orientierungswoche, einen wertvollen Beitrag.

Große Massenlehrveranstaltungen gibt es am Institut nicht. In den Lehrveranstaltungen und Sprechstunden der Lehrenden ist Raum für Fragen und Anliegen der Studierenden.

Für Qualifikationsarbeiten aller Stufen gibt es ein sportpädagogisches und ein sportsoziologisches Kolloquium, die regelmäßig während der Vorlesungszeit abgehalten und sehr gut über die Grenzen des Faches hinaus besucht werden. Hier stellen Studierende, DoktorandInnen und HabilitandInnen ihre Konzepte oder Arbeitsergebnisse zur Diskussion. Studierende werden regelmäßig als Hilfslehrkräfte und / oder TutorInnen in die Lehre integriert und halten, betreut von den Lehrenden, praktische Übungen und Tutorien ab.

Verschiedene Bereiche des Studiums und organisatorische Angelegenheiten werden von den zuständigen Ansprechpartnern betreut.

Die Sportwarte kümmern sich um die Sportanlagen an den Standorten Uhlhornsweg und Wechloy. Zu den Sportanlagen zählen neben der großen Spielhalle, der Turnhalle und mehreren Aktionsräumen die Tennis- und Beachvolleyballplätze sowie ein Rasenplatz. Das Unibad wird von den Schwimmmeistern der Universität betreut.

Wichtige Anliegen des Instituts werden in den Sitzungen des Institutsrates besprochen. Regelmäßig finden in der Vorleseungszeit Institutsversammlungen statt.

Das Sekretariat ist die erste Anlaufstelle für eine Kontaktaufnahme bei allgemeinen Fragen.

Für alle Fragen rund um das Studium können sich die Studierenden an die fachspezifische Studienberatung wenden.