Career Perspectives

This provides many employment opportunities for graduates of the master’s programme in ‘Sustainability Economics and Management’, especially in the public relations and environmental or sustainability departments of large enterprises. There are also opportunities to carry out special projects within such firms, for example the implementation of environmental management systems. Small and medium firms, especially from the constantly growing environmental sector (e. g. renewable energies, recycling), are also looking for specifically trained personnel.

Consultant and surveyor positions make for another area of employment. Additionally, there is a growing demand in various international organisations, in non-governmental organisations (NGOs), and government agencies at a national, EU or global level. The same applies to academia and scientific research, where an increasing number of sustainability-oriented research projects is being funded.

The chair for Ecological Economics offers the Praktikerforum Nachhaltigkeit accompanying to the regular classes each semester. Within these lectures selected experts present their professional activities in the field of sustainability. Practice-related contacts may be given or internships or topics for master theses offered.


Results of the graduates survey

The results of the first SEM-graduates survey can be consulted here (only German). The survey included questions about the professional careers of the graduates, too.

Furthermore, the Career Service of the University of Oldenburg (website in German only) supports all students in the search of internships or in the career start. Therefore it brings students and graduates together with regional and national companies and institutions.

For SEM-students the consultation offers as career planning, career start and application strategies as well as mediation offers for internships, master theses, scholarships or vacancies are of special interest. However, also the training offerings as trainings for the career start, application, communication etc. can increase one's chances on the labour market.

Berufsperspektiven

Für Absolvent*innen des Masterstudiengangs Sustainability Economics and Management ergeben sich vielfältige Berufschancen, besonders in Kommunikations-, Umwelt- und Nachhaltigkeitsabteilungen großer Unternehmen oder bei besonderen Projektvorhaben wie bspw. der Einführung von Umweltmanagementsystemen.

Aber auch kleinere und mittelständige Unternehmen, besonders in der stetig wachsenden Umweltbranche, haben einen zunehmenden Bedarf an spezifisch ausgebildeten Kräften für den Bereich nachhaltige Entwicklung. Berater- oder Gutachtertätigkeiten sind ein weiteres Berufsfeld, dazu kommt ein steigender Bedarf in verschiedenen internationalen Organisationen, NGOs und Behörden auf nationaler und auf EU-Ebene. Ähnlich ist die Situation in der Wissenschaft, in der immer mehr nachhaltigkeitsorientierte Forschungsvorhaben entstehen.

Begleitend zum regulären Vorlesungsbetrieb bietet die Professur für Ökologische Ökonomie jedes Semester das Praktikerforum Nachhaltigkeit an, bei dem ausgewählte Expert*innen über ihre Tätigkeiten im Bereich Nachhaltigkeit referieren, Praxiskontakte vermitteln und Abschlussarbeiten bzw. Praktika anbieten. 

 

Ergebnisse der Absolvent*innenbefragung

Die Ergebnisse der ersten SEM-Absolvent*innenbefragung, in der auch Fragen zum beruflichen Werdegang gestellt wurden, können hier eingesehen werden: Ergebnisse der SEM-Absolvent*innenbefragung.

Darüber hinaus hilft der Career Service der Universität Oldenburg allen Studierenden bei der Suche nach Praktika und beim Berufseinstieg. Hierfür bringt er Studierende und AbsolventInnen mit über-/regionalen Unternehmen und Institutionen zusammen.

Für Studierende des SEM-Masters sind vor allem die Beratungsangebote (Karriereplanung, Berufseinstieg, Bewerbungsstrategien) und Vermittlungsangebote (Praktika, Abschlussarbeiten, Stipendien, Stellenangebote) interessant. Aber auch die Weiterqualifizierungsangebote (Vorträge und Trainings zu Berufsstart, Bwerbung, Kommuniktaion etc.) können die Chancen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt erhöhen.