Microrobotics and Control Engineering

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Sergej Fatikow

Address: University of Oldenburg
Department of Computing Science - AMiR
26111 Oldenburg
  Sergej Fatikow
Room: A1-3-303
Phone: +49 (0)441 798-4291
Fax: +49 (0)441 798-3141 or -4267

Thursday, 02:00-03:00 p.m.
and by arrangement

E-Mail: fatikow(at)uni-oldenburg.de

Professor Dr.-Ing. habil. Sergej Fatikow studied electrical engineering and computer science at the Ufa Aviation Technical University in Russia, where he received his doctoral degree in 1988 with work on fuzzy control of complex non-linear systems. After that he worked until 1990 as a lecturer at the same university. During his work in Russia he published over 30 papers and successfully applied for over 50 patents in intelligent control and mechatronics. In 1990 he moved to the Institute for Process Control and Robotics at the University of Karlsruhe in Germany, where he worked as a postdoctoral scientific
researcher and since 1994 as Head of the research group “Microrobotics and Micromechatronics”. He became an assistant professor in 1996 and qualified for a full faculty position by habilitation at the University of Karlsruhe in 1999. In 2000 he accepted a faculty position at the University of Kassel, Germany. A year later, he was invited to establish a new Division for Microrobotics and Control Engineering (AMiR) at the University of Oldenburg, Germany. Since 2001 he is a full professor in the Department of Computing Science and Head of AMiR. His research interests include micro- and nanorobotics, automated robot-based nanohandling in SEM, AFM-based nanohandling, sensor feedback at nanoscale, and neuro-fuzzy robot control. He is author of three books on microsystem technology, microrobotics and microassembly, robot-based nanohandling, and automation at nanoscale, published by Springer in 1997, Teubner in 2000, and Springer in 2008.

Professional activities

Acquisition and coordination of numerous joint projects in various R&D programs of the European Union, German Research Foundation, Federal Ministry of Education and Research, and Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology. The fund for the research in Oldenburg since 2001 adds up to over 12 million Euro. 

Member of the Editorial Board of Jour. of Micro-Bio Robotics (Springer, 2012−), IEEE-ASME Trans. on Mechatronics (2010−), the IEEE Trans. on Automation Science & Engineering (2011−), Int. Jour. of Optomechatronics (Taylor & Francis, 2009−), Int. Jour. of Intelligent Mechatronics & Robotics (ICI-Global, 2010−), and Chinese Journal of Mechanical Engineering (Springer, 2013−).

Founding Chair of annual Int. Conf. on Manipulation, Manufacturing & Measurement on the Nanoscale (3MNANO, 2011−), Europe-Chair of IEEE-RAS Technical Committee on Micro/Nano Robotics and Automation (2012−),  Executive President of 3M-NANO International Society (2014−), Elected fellow of the Int. Society for Nanomanufacturing (2011−), Conference Chair of 2007 SPIE Int. Conf. on Optomechatronic Systems Control, Program Chair of 2010 IEEE/ASME Int. Conf. on Advanced Intelligent Mechatronics, and 2010 Int. Symp. on Optomechatronic Technology, Plenary speaker at numerous int. conferences.

Koh Young Best Paper award 2007 from the Int. Journal of Optomechatronics (Taylor & Francis, USA). Best Paper awards at 2014 IEEE Int. Conference on Nano/Micro Engineered and Molecular Systems (IEEE-NEMS), 2011 IEEE Int. Conference on Mechatronics and Automation, 2010 IEEE Int. Conference on Automation Science and Engineering, 2010 IEEE ECTI-CON, 2006 SPIE Optics East, 2005 Int. Conf. on Automation, Robotics and Autonomous Systems. Various award nominations.

Honorary professor of International Research Centre for Nano Handling and Manufacturing of China (2014−), Advisory Board member of Robotics Engineering Dept. at DGIST, South Korea (2012−), Invited professor at Univ. Pierre and Marie Curie (UPMC), Paris, France (2012). 1000 Talent Plan chair professor at South China Univ. of Technology, Guangzhou (2011−). Adjunct professor at Changchun Univ. of Science and Tech¬nology, China (2011−) and Zhejiang Univ., China (2009−). Distinguished visiting fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, UK (2008). Visiting fellow and Invited lecturer at numerous universities. 

Reviewer/Evaluator for the EU, the German Research Foundation (DFG), Swiss National Science Foundation (SNF), American National Science Foundation (NSF), French National Research Agency (ANR), Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Danish National Research Foundation (DNRF), the Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research, Fonds de recherche du Québec, Research Grant Council (RGC) of Hong Kong, Academy of Finland, and others. Member of a professor search committee at several international universities.

Member of IEEE (1998−), German Academia Association (DHV, 1996−).