The Senate and its commissions and committees

23rd term of office: 01/04/2017 – 31/03/2019

In accordance with section 41 of the Lower Saxony Higher Education Act (NHG), the Senate is the only body at central level that meets in public (whose meetings are open to members of the university). As a rule, it is in session once a month. In accordance with section 5, paragraphs 4 and 5 of the university statutes, the Senate establishes standing committees. Apart from the standing committees referred to in section 5, paragraphs 4 and 5, further Senate commissions can be established where needed, particularly with a view to preparing for decisions and opinions.


Senate commissions



Sabine Osterkamp

Telephone: 0441/798-4742
Fax: 0441/798-4750
E-Mail: gremien(at)
Room: ÖCO 1-153

Office for presidential chair and committee supervision, general legal matters

Committee supervision
ÖCO 1-153

Senate elections

The Elections Office is responsible for organising elections for the Senate and the Faculty Councils.