The German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) is the world's largest funding organisation for the international exchange of students and scholars. The DAAD is an association supported by the German universities and student bodies. The wide-ranging activities of the DAAD with its more than 250 support programmes include scholarship awards, the promotion of internationalisation of German universities, the strengthening of German studies and the study of the German language abroad and supporting developing countries in establishing effective universities. The DAAD also acts in an advisory capacity to decision-makers in education, academic foreign policy and development policy. The DAAD budget mainly derives from federal funding from various ministries, especially the German Foreign Office, the European Union as well as enterprises, organisations and foreign governments.

 

Congress and Conference Travel Programme

The German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) congress and conference travel programme offers two independent line of funding. The following are funded:

1. Travel abroad to congresses, i.e. actively participating at a designated international scientific event (congress, symposium, etc.). Prerequisite: a close link between the research-related work/plans of the applicant and the topic/content of the event. 

2. Lecture tours abroad, i.e. scientists travel (outside of congresses, symposia, seminars, workshops, etc.) abroad to report on their own current research results and scientific work and exchange experiences with scientists of the host country.

The programme is open to scientists of all disciplines. Applications for support for congress travel abroad must be submitted to the DAAD no later than four months before the first day of the congress.

 

Contact

BIRGIT BRUNS (IRo)

Tel.: +49(0)441/798-4639
birgit.bruns(at)uni-oldenburg.de

 

International Relations Office (IRO)

Links

Website DAAD

Der Deutsche Akademische Austauschdienst (DAAD) ist die weltweit größte Förderorganisation für den internationalen Austausch von Studierenden und Wissenschaftlern. Der DAAD wird als Verein von den deutschen Hochschulen und Studierendenschaften getragen. Die vielseitige Tätigkeit des DAAD - die sich in mehr als 250 Förderprogrammen ausdrückt - umfasst neben der Vergabe von Stipendien auch die Förderung der Internationalisierung der deutschen Hochschulen, die Stärkung der Germanistik und der deutschen Sprache im Ausland und die Unterstützung von Entwicklungsländern beim Aufbau leistungsfähiger Hochschulen. Darüber hinaus steht der DAAD den Entscheidern in der Bildungs-, Aussenwissenschafts- und Entwicklungspolitik als Berater zur Seite. Das Budget des DAAD stammt überwiegend aus Bundesmitteln verschiedener Ministerien, vor allem des Auswärtigen Amtes, von der Europäischen Union sowie von Unternehmen, Organisationen und ausländischen Regierungen.

Kongress- und Vortragsreisenprogramm

Im Kongress- und Vortragsreisenprogramm des DAAD werden zwei voneinander unabhängige Förderlinien angeboten. Gefördert werden

  1. Kongressreisen ins Ausland, d.h. die aktive Teilnahme an einer ausgewiesenen internationalen wissenschaftlichen Veranstaltung (Kongress, Symposium, etc.). Voraussetzung: es besteht ein enger Zusammenhang zwischen den forschungsbezogenen Arbeiten/ Planungen des Antragstellers und dem Thema/ Inhalt der Veranstaltung. 
  2. Vortragsreisen ins Ausland, d.h. Reisen von WissenschafterInnen (außerhalb von Kongressen, Symposien, Seminaren, Workshops etc.) ins Ausland um dort über eigene aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse und wissenschaftliche Arbeiten zu berichten und Erfahrungen mit WissenschaftlerInnen des Gastlandes auszutauschen.

Das Programm steht WissenschaftlerInnen aller Fachrichtungen offen. Anträge auf Förderung von Kongressreisen ins Ausland müssen spätestens vier Monate vor dem ersten Kongresstag beim DAAD eingehen. Anträge auf Vortragsreisen ins Ausland müssen spätestens einen Monat vor Reisebeginn beim DAAD eingehen.