Hearing Research

The aim of the research area is „hearing for all“ which is pursued by the successful establishment and further development of the Cluster of Excellence "Hearing4all” within the framework of the cross-institutional “Centre of Excellence for Hearing Research”. With improved individual hearing diagnostics and an optimized provision of personalized hearing support the scientists strive to greatly improve the communication situation of affected people – be it at work, in traffic or at home. By model-based research on diagnostics and auditory profiles of normal-hearing and hearing-impaired people, they seek to reach a better understanding of the individual sensory function of hearing. Furthermore, they use the models to improve the fitting of hearing devices and to optimally adjust them to the respective situation.

The Centre for Hearing Research which was established in 2008 at Oldenburg University (UOL) and Hannover Medical School (MHH) will - in cooperation with the Leibniz Universität Hannover - be transformed into a sustainable cross-university structure which will support the Cluster of Excellence “Hearing4all”. In the area of basic research, a multitude of successful, competitively funded projects (e.g. EU, DFG, BMBF, VW-Stiftung) are currently performed, among them the collaborative research centre "The Active Auditory System", the research unit "Individualized Hearing Acoustics" and the PhD programme “Signals and Cognition”. These structures will be supplemented with a new to-be-established collaborative research centre and one or more research units and graduate schools.

For the translation of research results into practical applications, the aforementioned structures are closely connected with the research network “Auditory Valley” which includes different non-academic research institutions and local companies. The main partners of the Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg are the HörTech gGmbH, the Hörzentrum Oldenburg and the Fraunhofer IDMT project group „Hearing, Speech and Audio Technology“ which will be expanded into an independent institution.



Prof. Dr. Birger Kollmeier

Prof. Dr. Christoph Herrmann

Prof. Dr. Simon Doclo

Prof. Dr. Georg Klump

Hörforschung

Ziel des Schwerpunkts ist das „Hören für alle“, das durch den erfolgreichen Betrieb und die Weiterentwicklung des Exzellenzclusters „Hearing4all“ im Rahmen eines Institutionen-übergreifenden „Exzellenzzentrums für Hörforschung“ vorangetrieben wird. Durch eine Verbesserung der individualisierten Hördiagnostik und der darauf angepassten Versorgung mit persönlichen Hörhilfen wollen die WissenschaftlerInnen die Kommunikationssituation von Betroffenen entscheidend verbessern - sei es bei der Arbeit, im Verkehr oder zu Hause. Hierbei werden grundlegende, auf Modellen basierende Arbeiten zur Diagnose und zum auditorischen Profil von Normal- bis schwerhörenden Menschen durchgeführt, um zu einem besseren Verständnis des individuellen Gehörs zu gelangen. Darüber hinaus werden diese Modelle benutzt, um die individuelle Versorgung mit technischen Hörhilfen zu verbessern und an die jeweilige Situation angepasst zu optimieren.

Das 2008 eingerichtete Zentrum für Hörforschung an der Universität Oldenburg (UOL) und der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover (MHH) soll in eine nachhaltige und auch die Leibniz-Universität einschließende Hochschul-übergreifende Struktur eines Exzellenzzentrums für Hörforschung transformiert werden, das den Exzellenzcluster „Hearing4all“ trägt. In der Grundlagenforschung sind neben einer Vielzahl von kompetitiv eingeworbenen Förderprojekten (z.B. EU, DFG, BMBF, VW-Stiftung) der SFB „Das aktive Gehör“, die Forschergruppe „Individualisierte Hörakustik“ und das PhD-Programm „Signals and Cognition“ aktuell geförderte Strukturen, die durch die Etablierung eines neuen Sonderforschungsbereichs, sowie einer oder mehrerer Forschergruppen und Graduiertenkollegs ergänzt werden sollen.

Zur Translation von Forschungsergebnissen in die Praxis sind die genannten Strukturen mit dem Forschungsnetzwerk „Auditory Valley“ aus verschiedenen außeruniversitären Forschungsinstitutionen und regional ansässigen Firmen eng verbunden. Seitens der Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg zählt zu den wesentlichen Partnern die HörTech gGmbH, das Hörzentrum Oldenburg und die Fraunhofer IDMT Projektgruppe für Hör-, Sprach- und Audiotechnologie, die zu einer eigenständigen Einrichtung ausgebaut werden soll.

 

Sprecherinnen und Sprecher

Prof. Dr. Birger Kollmeier
birger.kollmeier(at)uni-oldenburg.de

Prof. Dr. Christoph Herrmann
christoph.herrmann(at)uni-oldenburg.de

Prof. Dr. Simon Doclo
simon.doclo(at)uni-oldenburg.de

Prof. Dr. Georg Klump
georg.klump(at)uni-oldenburg.de