Education and Social Participation

This field of research focuses on the relationship between education and social inequality from the perspectives of social science and educational research.

From a social science perspective, the focus lies on the analysis of educational inequalities. This implies inquiring about the intergenerational mobility of educational attainments and social status, the dynamics of educational inequality during the life-course, and the exact diffusion mechanisms of inequality. Further attention is given to the accumulation and consolidation of social disadvantages, since inadequate educational profiles are often related to discrimination and marginalization in other areas of life. This raises the question how the accumulation of disadvantages can be addressed through advanced labour market policies, educational policies and social policies. Also the role of international organizations such as the EU and the OECD is a crucial question in this context.

From an educational science perspective, the focus lies on the analysis of the permeability and inclusiveness of the education system. This includes special attention to institutional and structural barriers within the education system that foster selectivity, drop-out and a low participation of under-represented, marginalized and special-needs groups. Also of interest are the structures, processes and effects of educational policies and pedagogical interventions seeking to improve educational participation as well as the inclusiveness and quality of the education system. Regarding secondary education, we ask how successful educational biographies, educational processes and transitions can be promoted among children and youth, alongside personal and social skills. Regarding tertiary education, we focus on the outcomes of federal programs aiming to ease transitions between vocational and higher education and to reduce drop-out rates in higher education.

The two perspectives, which were hitherto pursued in several independent large-scale research projects, have recently been brought under a single umbrella in an application for a new graduate school. In the future, the existing cooperation is to be deepened in joint national and international collaborative research projects.

 

Sprecherinnen und Sprecher

Prof. Dr. Anke Hanft
anke.hanft(at)uni-oldenburg.de

Prof. Dr. Martin Heidenreich
martin.heidenreich(at)uni-oldenburg.de

Partizipation und Bildung

Im Schwerpunkt wird dem Zusammenhang zwischen Bildung und sozialer Ungleichheit aus sozial- und bildungswissenschaftlicher Perspektive nachgegangen.

In sozialwissenschaftlicher Perspektive steht die Analyse von Bildungsungleichheiten im Mittelpunkt. Damit werden Fragen nach der intergenerationalen Mobilität von Bildung und sozialem Status, nach den Dynamiken von Bildungsungleichheiten im Lebenslauf und nach den konkreten Diffusionskanälen von Ungleichheit bearbeitet. Zudem geht es um die Kumu­lierung und Verfestigung sozialer Benachteiligungen, da nicht passende Profile von Bildung oftmals mit Benachteiligungen und Ausgrenzung in anderen Feldern einhergehen. Dies wirft die Frage auf, wie die Kumulierung von Benachteiligungen durch eine Weiter­entwicklung von Arbeitsmarkt-, Bildungs- und Sozialpolitiken angegangen werden kann und welche Bedeutung hierbei internationalen Organisationen wie der EU oder der OECD zukommt.  

In einer bildungswissenschaftlichen Perspektive geht es um die Analyse der Durchlässigkeit und Teilhabe im Bildungssystem. Dabei stehen zum einen die institutionellen und struktur­ellen Barrieren des Bildungssystems selbst, die zur Selektivität, zu Bildungsabbrüchen und zur mangelnden Partizipation unterrepräsentierter, bildungsbenachteiligter und beeinträchtigter Gruppen führen, im Fokus. Zum anderen wird den Strukturen, Prozessen und Wirkungen bildungspolitischer und pädagogischer Interventionen zur Teilhabe und Inklusion und zur Qualitätsverbesserung im Bildungssystem nachgegangen. Im sekundären Sektor wird gefragt, wie erfolgreiche Bildungsbiographien, -prozesse und -übergänge von Kindern und Jugendlichen sowie personale und soziale Kompetenzen gefördert werden können. Im tertiären Sektor stehen die Wirkung bundesweiter Programme zur Förderung der Durchlässigkeit zwischen beruflicher und hochschulischer Bildung sowie die Verringerung von Abbruchquoten in Hochschulen im Mittelpunkt.        

Die in mehreren großen Forschungsprojekten verfolgten zwei Perspektiven wurden inzwischen in einem Antrag auf Einrichtung eines Promotionsprogramms zusammengeführt. Zukünftig soll der Akzent über die vorhandenen Kooperationen hinaus stärker auf weitere gemeinsame nationale und internationale Verbundprojekte gelegt werden.

 

Sprecherinnen und Sprecher

Prof. Dr. Anke Hanft
anke.hanft(at)uni-oldenburg.de

Prof. Dr. Martin Heidenreich
martin.heidenreich(at)uni-oldenburg.de