Cooperative Critical Systems

Embedded Systems are computer-based electronic systems that are ‘embedded’ into various products which we use on a daily basis. Especially in the transportation domain – i.e., in cars, planes, railway, and maritime systems – these embedded systems enable and take over more and more functionality, e.g., control, navigation, dynamic route guiding, safeguarding, and traffic optimization. From mere assistance systems supporting human operators, these systems continuously evolve to higher levels of automation. In road transport, for example, they set out to perform driving tasks in part autonomously, partly in cooperation with other technical systems and the human operators. 

The research area Cooperative Critical Systems focuses its research on how these systems can be developed and build such that they are

  • functionally safe – i.e., their operation can be guaranteed to not endanger the environment or human beings
  • IT secure – i.e., they are protected against security attacks and do not compromise user privacy
  • comfortable and intuitive to operate – i.e., they adapt to human needs and avoid any ‘automation surprises’.

This inter-disciplinary and cross-faculty research joins researchers from Computer Science, Psychology, Medicine & Health-Services Research, and Physics, who together investigate processes and methods for the development of these embedded systems. They focus on human centred engineering, formal verification, validation of functional and non-functional properties, and bidirectional man-machine interaction with its technical, psychological and neuronal foundations.

The research area evolved from the combination of the Interdisciplinary Research Centre Safety Crtical Systems with the MWK-funded large scale collaborative project CSE. It hosts a multitude of research projects with a combined annual level of funding of several Mio. Euros. Among its key projects are a Transregional Collaborative Research Centre (SFB/TR 14 AVACS), a Graduate School (GRK SCARE) and a large scale research project funded by the MWK.

The research area will be continuously developed and expanded along the following directions:

  • Continued acquisition of large scale projects at regional, national and European levels, among them an SFB/TRR Long Term Autonomy and an SFB Safe Human Machine Cooperation, or a Cluster of Excellence Centre on Cyber-Physical Systems
  • Extension into additional application domains (especially: to the maritime domain), thereby also extending intra-university networking
  • Broadening the expertise in IT-security (via OFFIS)
  • Strengthening the activities in man-machine interaction, thereby also strengthening the integration of Computer Science, Psychology and Health-Services Research
  • Establishment of an international and inter-disciplinary master degree program on “Critical Systems Engineering” to educate young scientists for the research area

The research area strives to become one of the European Top-5 research- and cooperation-partners for the design and development of Cooperative Critical Systems.

 

Spokespersons

Prof. Dr. Werner Damm
werner.damm(at)uni-oldenburg.de 

Prof. Dr. Martin Fränzle
martin.fraenzle(at)uni-oldenburg.de

Prof. Dr. Jochem Rieger
jochem.rieger(at)uni-oldenburg.de

Kooperative sicherheitskritische Systeme

Elektronische, computerbasierte Systeme in Verkehrsmitteln – Autos, Flugzeugen, Bahn, Schiffen – sowie deren Verkehrsinfrastruktur übernehmen immer mehr Aufgaben der Steuerung, Navigation, Routenführung, Verkehrssicherung und -optimierung. Von reinen Assistenzsystemen, die die Fahrzeugführung lediglich unterstützen, werden diese Systeme einen immer höheren Autonomiegrad erreichen und Fahraufgaben teils stellvertretend, teils in Kooperation mit anderen technischen Systemen sowie mit den sie nutzenden Menschen durchführen. Der Schwerpunkt befasst sich mit der Frage, wie solche Systeme so entwickelt werden können, dass sie

  • funktional sicher – von ihnen darf keine Gefahr für die Umgebung, die Umwelt oder gar Menschen ausgehen,
  • IT-sicher – die Systeme dürfen nicht angreifbar und die Privatsphäre der Nutzer durch sie nicht kompromittierbar sein (durch „Hacker“, „Datendiebe“, etc.),
  • komfortabel und intuitiv nutzbar – sie bieten sinnvolle Adaption an den Menschen und vermeiden „Automation Surprises“, sind.

Der interdisziplinäre und interfakultäre Schwerpunkt vereinigt Forscher/-innen aus den Bereichen Informatik, Psychologie, Medizin/Versorgungsforschung und Physik und entwickelt Prozesse und Methoden für die Entwicklung solcher kooperierender sicherheitskritischer Systeme mit einem Fokus auf die Themen Human Centered Engineering, formale Verifikation, Validierung nicht-funktionaler Eigenschaften, sowie bidirektionale Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion und deren technischen, psychologischen und neuronalen Grundlagen.

Der Schwerpunkt entsteht aus einer Zusammenführung des Forschungszentrums Sicherheitskritische Systeme und des MWK-geförderten Verbundprojekts CSE. In ihm werden eine Fülle von Projekten mit einem Fördervolumen von mehreren Mio. Euro pro Jahr durchgeführt, darunter ein Sonderforschungsbereich (SFB/TR 14 AVACS), eine Graduiertenschule (GRK SCARE) und ein vom nds. MWK gefördertes Verbundprojekt.

Die Weiterentwicklung und Fortführung des Schwerpunktes erfolgt anhand folgender Achsen:

  • Fortsetzung der Einwerbung von Großprojekten auf regionaler, nationaler und europäischer Ebene, darunter auch ein SFB/TR Long Term Autonomy und ein SFB bzw. Exzellenzcluster Safe Human Machine Cooperation bzw. Center on Cyber Physical Systems
  • Ausdehnung auf weitere Anwendungsdomänen (insbesondere Maritim), damit verbunden Ausweitung der universitätsinternen Vernetzung
  • Stärkere Einbindung von Expertise im Bereich der IT-Sicherheit (über OFFIS)
  • Verstärkung der Aktivitäten im Bereich Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion, damit einhergehend stärkere Integration von Informatik und Psychologie sowie Versorgungsforschung
  • Einrichtung eines internationalen und interdisziplinären Masterstudiengangs „Critical Systems Engineering“ zur Ausbildung von Nachwuchs im Schwerpunkt

Er zielt darauf, in Europa einer der gefragtesten 5 Forschungs- und Kooperationspartner für alle Fragen des Entwurfs kooperativer sicherer Systeme zu sein.

 

Sprecherinnen und Sprecher

Prof. Dr. Werner Damm
werner.damm(at)uni-oldenburg.de 

Prof. Dr. Martin Fränzle
martin.fraenzle(at)uni-oldenburg.de

Prof. Dr. Jochem Rieger
jochem.rieger(at)uni-oldenburg.de