Biodiversity and Marine Science

The research focus on biodiversity and marine science originated from the combination of the expert knowledge at the Institute of Biology and Environmental Sciences (IBU) and the Institute for Chemistry and Biology of the Marine Environment (ICBM). The strength of the IBU relates to its research on functional, physiological, sensory and genetic adaptations to variations in environmental conditions. The ICBM is renowned for its interdisciplinary marine environmental  focus on biogeochemistry, fluxes of matter and energy and the functional role of biodiversity in ecosystems. Biodiversity research deals with the adaptive capacity of organisms, including the basic genetic processes, the analysis of interactions and coexistence mechanisms among organisms, as well as changes in biodiversity and resulting implications for ecosystem functions. Using empirical and theoretical approaches, we study the evolutionary and ecological processes governing patterns of terrestrial and marine biodiversity and their dynamics in times of rapid global change. The synthesis of terrestrial and marine biodiversity research is a unique feature at our university, which is also reflected in the collaborative research project BEFmate of the universities Oldenburg (IBU, ICBM) and Göttingen.

A pronounced interdisciplinary approach characterizes the marine sciences in Oldenburg, combining biological, geochemical, physical and modeling studies. The systems analysis of the Wadden Sea, a model region for other coastal areas, has provided a unique baseline for coastal research in Oldenburg. In addition, researchers of the ICBM study deep sea and ocean ecology with the newly constructed research vessel “Sonne”, which is based in Wilhelmshaven. Particularly noteworthy is the Transregio SFB51 with its focus on the functional role of the marine Roseobacter bacteria, but also other projects that address the consequences of global environmental change.

Marine research is conducted at the university locations Oldenburg and Wilhelmshaven, the latter with 5 ICBM research groups. Several boats, a unique data logging facility in the Wadden Sea, and an outstanding infrastructure for chemical analytics, molecular biology and experimental environmental studies offer a unique research environment. We aim at a higher integration with extra-faculty research institutions; currently there are 4 joint professorships. In the future, cooperations with social-ecological research groups should be encouraged. In the long run, we aim at establishing a common regional research area in the Northwest, including the universities Bremen and Groningen (NL).

 

Spokespersons

Prof. Dr. Helmut Hillebrand
helmut.hillebrand(at)uni-oldenburg.de

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Zotz
gerhard.zotz(at)uni-oldenburg.de

Prof. Dr. Michael Kleyer
michael.kleyer(at)uni-oldenburg.de

Prof. Dr. Bernd Blasius
bernd.blasius(at)uni-oldenburg.de

Biodiversität und Meereswissenschaften

Der Schwerpunkt Biodiversitäts- und Meereswissenschaften entstand durch die Integration der organismischen und umweltwissenschaftlichen Expertisen des IBU und des ICBM. Das IBU trägt hierzu vor allem im Bereich der funktionellen, physiologischen, sensorischen und genetischen Anpassungen von (zumeist terrestrischen) Organismen an Umweltbedingungen bei. Das ICBM steht für interdisziplinäre marine Umweltforschung mit Fokus auf Stoffkreisläufen, Energieflüssen und ebenfalls der funktionellen Rolle der Biodiversität in Ökosystemen. Der Bereich Biodiversität umfasst die (genetischen Grundlagen der) Adaptabilität von Organismen, die Analyse von Artwechselwirkungen sowie Mechanismen der Koexistenz, Biodiversitätsveränderung und Ökosystemfunktionen. Mit empirischen und theoretischen Ansätzen werden die evolutionären und ökologischen Prozesse untersucht, die die derzeitigen Muster der terrestrischen und marinen Biodiversität sowie ihre Dynamik in Zeiten rapiden globalen Wandels steuern. Internationales Alleinstellungsmerkmal in diesem Bereich ist die Synthese terrestrischer und mariner Biodiversitätsforschung, die sich exemplarisch im Verbundprojekt BEFmate der Universitäten Oldenburg (ICBM, IBU) und Göttingen widerspiegelt.

Ein dezidiert interdisziplinärer Ansatz kennzeichnet auch den Bereich Meereswissenschaften, der biologische, geochemische, physikalische und modellierende Methoden verbindet. Mit der Systemanalyse des Wattenmeeres, einer Modellregion für andere Küstenregionen, hat sich die Oldenburger Meeresforschung ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal in der Küstenforschung geschaffen, widmet sich als Heimatinstitut des Forschungsschiffes „Sonne“ aber vermehrt Fragen der Ozeanforschung. Zentral stehen hier der Transregio SFB 51 zur funktionellen Rolle der marinen Bakteriengruppe Roseobacter und Projekte zur Aufklärung zu globalen Umweltveränderungen.

Der Schwerpunkt ist auf die Standorte Oldenburg und Wilhelmshaven aufgeteilt; letzterer umfasst 5 Arbeitsgruppen des ICBM. Der Schwerpunkt kann auf Boote, einen Messpfahl und herausragende Infrastruktur im Bereich der chemischen Analytik, der Molekularbiologie und der experimentellen Umweltforschung zurückgreifen. Perspektivisch sollen die etablierte Zusammenarbeit mit außeruniversitären Instituten (zurzeit vier Kooperationsprofessuren) intensiviert sowie sozialwissenschaftliche Fragestellungen enger angebunden werden. Langfristig strebt der Schwerpunkt die Anbahnung eines gemeinsamen regionalen Forschungsraums im Nordwesten unter Einbeziehung der Universitäten Bremen und Groningen an.

 

Sprecherinnen und Sprecher

Prof. Dr. Helmut Hillebrand
helmut.hillebrand(at)uni-oldenburg.de

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Zotz
gerhard.zotz(at)uni-oldenburg.de

Prof. Dr. Michael Kleyer
michael.kleyer(at)uni-oldenburg.de

Prof. Dr. Bernd Blasius
bernd.blasius(at)uni-oldenburg.de